The Humane Society of the United States
    • Share to Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Email
    • Print

Board of Directors and National Council

The Humane Society of the United States


Eric L. Bernthal, Esq., Chair of the Board
Charles A. Laue, Vice Chair
Marsha R. Perelman, Vice ChairJason Weiss, Vice ChairKathleen M. Linehan, Esq., Board TreasurerKitty Block, Acting President, CEO and Chief International OfficerMichael Markarian, Chief Operating OfficerG. Thomas Waite III, Treasurer and CFOKatherine Karl, General Counsel, Vice President, and CLOAmy C. Rodgers, SecretaryMichaelen Barsness, Controller, Deputy, and Assistant TreasurerTheresa Cannon Reese, Second Deputy TreasurerDenise Schlener, Assistant TreasurerCarol England, Assistant SecretaryDonna L. Mochi, Assistant Secretary


Read biographical information about Board of Directors members

Jeffrey J. Arciniaco (Boca Raton, Florida)
Eric L. Bernthal (Potomac, Maryland)
Georgina Bloomberg (New York, New York)
Jerry Cesak (La Jolla, California) 
Anita W. Coupe, Esq. (Biddeford Pool, Maine)
Neil B. Fang, Esq., CPA (Hewlett Neck, New York)
Spencer Haber (Greenwich, Connecticut)
Cathy Kangas (New Canaan, Connecticut)
Paula A. Kislak, D.V.M. (Santa Barbara, California)
Charles A. Laue (Kansas City, Kansas)
Kathleen M. Linehan, Esq. (Washington, D.C.)
John Mackey (Austin, Texas)
Mary I. Max (New York, New York)
C. Thomas McMillen (Washington, D.C.)
Judy Ney (New York, New York)
Sharon Lee Patrick (New York, New York)
Marsha R. Perelman (Wynnewood, Pennsylvania)
Marian G. Probst (New York, New York)
Jonathan M. Ratner (Shaker Heights, Ohio)
Walter J. Stewart, Esq. (Lewes, Delaware)
Jason Weiss (Pacific Palisades, California)
David O. Wiebers, M.D. (Overland Park, Kansas)

National Council Members

The Humane Society of the United States' National Council is a high-level advisory body of influential individuals who work with The HSUS's executive staff and Board of Directors to advance the organization's mission. Read biographical information about National Council members.

Suzy Smith Bennitt (Ojai, California)
Howard Berk (Scarsdale, New York)
Brian Borg (Park City, Utah)
Gloria Butler (Los Angeles, California)
Andrew Currie (Boulder, Colorado)
Jennifer Fagá, D.V.M. (Montauk, New York)
Linda Goddard (Essex, Connecticut)
Frances Hayward (East Hampton, New York)
Christian Keesee (New York, New York; Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)
Stacey Dorfman Kivowitz (Dallas, Texas)
Jennifer Laue (Kansas City, Kansas)
Jennifer McCausland (Seattle, Washington)
Heather Mykoskie (Topanga, California)
Ari Nessel (Ross, California)
Ardath Rosengarden (Boca Raton, Florida)
Richard Schechter (Wellington, Florida)
Breanna Schultz (New York, New York)
Jordan Schultz (New York, New York)
Cheri Shankar (Beverly Hills, California)
Alanna Tarkington (Solvang, California)
Natalie Trahan (Hillsborough, California)
Steve White (Los Angeles, California)